Hello From Tampa!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AngryRhino

Hello All,

My name is Michael, and I am a brand spanking new pen turner. I've never touched a lathe or done any real wood working in my life, so this is all pretty new to me.

The sum total of my experience is only what I've had turning all of two pens so far, both slim line. As I am self taught from articles and youtube vids, my two slim lines are both complete straight (no swells, etc...) as I don't exactly know how to do that yet! (We were all new at something at some time, yes?)

My set up is currently a Delta 455 Lathe--which I also do my drilling on--, and a Sorby 3/4" spindle gouge / parting tool. (Should be getting a Skew in on Friday at my local Woodcrafters--20% off sale--though it's a little intimidating...)

I've attached a picture of my second pen attempt (Cocobolo). It was made entirely with the spindle gouge. I then sanded it with 180, 220, 320, 400, 600, and then micro meshed to 12000. I put a few drops of teak oil on it, then applied as best a CA finish as I could. Finally, I used some HUT plastic polish on it. (I have some Ren Wax on order, which will be the top coat when it comes.) Please excuse the poor phone pic, I'm no photographer, and the pen is actually much shinier in person. I know the pen is nowhere near the level of what you guys do, but I'm hoping to get there someday.

1ljPgYv.png

I hope to learn a lot while I'm here!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AngryRhino

Thank you all for the warm welcome! As of this evening, I have now turned 3 pens! Below is the one I did tonight in Ancient Kauri. The wood is perhaps one of the most plain looking I've seen in the rough, but the gold and white iridescence when it's turned is beautiful. Again, crappy pics! Lol

And who doesn't like the irony involved in a pen that pre-dates history?

TKa1vXa.png

turncrazy43

Michael, nice job on both pen #2 and #3. Keep it up and Welcome to IAP from Georgia.

OZturner