Hello from Southern California

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DutchPlatypus

Hi Everybody,

I want to leave a brief introduction here. I'm a Dutch guy living in Southern California. I love fountain pens and calligraphy and besides my small modest collection of store bought pens, I want to try my hands on making my own. As a mechanical engineer, I have used lathes and many other tools but I have never tried my hands on wood turning. I'm hoping to use the knowledge in this forum as guidance to find the right tools and materials to get me started successfully.

Best Regards,
Edwin van Doorn

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sappheiros

Welcome from Chicago!

There's a wealth of knowledge to find here and many helpful people included! Any questions you have or will have will get you answers when asked. Never be afraid to post! Check out the library for what materials you may need. There's articles there on the subject. (Top of the page menu bar, there's a button for library.) Also, a recent new member just posted regarding a supplies list asking what to buy. There's a lot of great discussion there.

liljohn1368

Welcome from Mississippi, Edwin. This is a good place to get knowledge about pen turning. This is a great group of folks.

Last edited:

jttheclockman

Hello Edwin and welcome from NJ. All the way on the other coast:)

Have to say my sister-in-law is into calligraphy and has wanted me to make her a pen set with a stand of some sort. I have no idea what those pens even look like so maybe we can learn something together. I will put that on my to do list.

Hope you stick around and join in the fun. lots of knowledge and info spread throughout this site. Take some time and look around. Have fun.:)

JimB

Welcome from western New York State. There is lots of great info on here and many people who will be happy to answer any questions you have. Don't hesitate to post your questions.

RobS