Hello from Pittsburgh PA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fast_Lambert

Hi all,

I'm Mark and I am completely new to woodturning. I don't even have my first lathe yet. That is what led me to this site, researching the "best" starter lathe. I've seen a lot of good information so far and I'm looking forward to soaking up as much of your knowledge as I can.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

randyrls

Mark; Check out local turning clubs. AAW has clubs all over. These clubs are your best source of turning info.

Make a list of say 3 or 4 lathes that fill your needs. Don't ignore Craigslist or Ebay. But if you go these routes, have an experienced woodturner accompany you to check out any lathe you look at. Clubs will know of any lathes for sale in your area. Turners sometimes sell their lathe for a better/larger lathe and want to sell their old lathe.

leehljp

Member Liaison
Welcome!

1. What ever you look for - make sure you get one with an MT2 taper. Lathes come with different tapers but the MT2 offered the best choice for options. If you don't know what that is, don't worry, just ask or look for MT2 and make sure of that.

2. It is difficult to put a lot of money into something you are not sure about but many people spend $300 - $400 on a pen lathe and then find out they don't like changing belts 2 or 3 times per pen. At this point, They wish they had purchased a higher priced lathe with electronically variable speed.

IF you have the money, an extra hundred dollars or so makes for a better experience down the road.

Something to think about.

chartle

Welcome from the North Boroughs ;).

I have the discontinued mini lathe from Harbor and for my needs it works just fine.

One thing I doubt I could live without is variable speed.

randyrls