Hello from Perth, Western Australia!!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Simsonicole

Hi Guys. I am a newbie from Perth, Western Australia. I work in a repair shop, so have access to some pretty neat toys. When told I could make pens if I wanted to...I thought "Why not?" :)

Been making pens since the start of 2015. I have made about 10 pens in total. Mainly wood and started on the acrylic about 3 weeks ago. Having a fair bit of fun with them and happy to take any tips, tricks & advice available.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Welcome from Texas, Nicole. Glad to have you aboard.
You'll find lots of help here & answers to any questions you might have.
There are a number of great tutorials in the library and Ed Brown has some excellent videos at the ExoticBlanks.com web site.

Simsonicole

Went and had a look around at the Exotic Blanks web site...wow. So many things to try but worried that I may stuff my technique up. They have a video with the gluing of the tube and there is no way I can use up that much time putting the glue in...my glue would have been set. I generally have to glue it up and get it in asap...so curious as to the grade and type of glue he used. Any ideas?

BSea

Welcome from Arkansas!

I agree with Ratty. I use 5 minute epoxy. If I use CA, I'll only use thick. And make sure your blanks are cool before glueing. The heat from drilling a blank will make CA cure faster.

magpens

Welcome to IAP, Nicole ! Use epoxy (5 minute or 10 minute) for tube gluing is my advice. Rough the tube surface first.

Simsonicole

I use a lot of the 5 min epoxy adhesives at work...so will bring some home to try! Thanks guys.

Having another issue...my first few acrylics came up smooth as with just the turning...micro mesh sanding and a bit of plastic polish and they came up a treat! Got the hubby to sharpen my chisel, and now I keep getting a lot of 'chunking out' happening. Any ideas guys as getting very frustrated? :)