Hello from Ontario

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

beep119

Hello all, I'm new to all of this so please be gentle;)
I have been wanting to get into this hobby for years now and finally doing it!
Just a quick question if you don't mind, what lathe is a good and reliable on to get ?
I am looking at different brands and price ranges right now 200-400
Some lathes I am eyeing right now are:
Craftex CSA CX801
Craftex CSA CT 172
I have read some bad reviews on Craftex lathes, any thoughts?
King Canada KWL-1016C
Not much reviews for King Canada, anyone have this and can give advice?
General 25-010
Seems pretty light weight for a lathe, anyone have this?
Also, any lathes from harbor freight tools? I have read mixed reviews about these lathes, but the price is pretty good around 150-300, i can go across the border to get one if need be, just not sure about paying the duties would be worth the trip though.
Also, Jet lathes...more money but are they worth the extra coin for a beginner?
And any other lathe recommendations for a beginner that can be bought in Canada?

Thank you everyone
S

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Welcome to IAP from the other side of the country !!

My advice is, if you are serious about turning, and I think you are, spend the extra coin and get a decent lathe ... you won't regret it ... and get one with electronic variable speed (not sure if the Craftex lathes you mentioned have that).

Frankly, on Craftex lathes, you are paying nearly top dollar for a lathe that will probably disappoint you as far as quality and features go. I have a Craftex metal-turning lathe and that has been my experience.

Last edited:

JimB

Welcome from western New York State.