Hello From Oklahoma!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

okmatt

Hello everyone! I live about an hour North of Tulsa. I purchased a new harbor freight 10 x 18 central lathe on January 1rst. So look for a lot of rookie questions right out of the chute.

So to get us started... I really enjoy turning but I can not lie it would be great to sell some pens to support the hobby, so with that in mind what are the most popular finishes for you guys? I realize that this could vary in different locations but I would like to hear what sells the best for you. Do you have any that just don't sell?

Also since I am a beginner I have ordered a couple of dozen slimline kits. If I want to go ahead and up my game what other kinds of pens or Pencils would sell well?

One Last thing what are the best selling woods?

Thanks in advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Welcome to IAP, Matt.

The Library has lots of great information and we are here to answer questions too!

Library: Library Index - International Association of Penturners

Pen turners and what they wished they had learned earlier: http://www.penturners.org/forum/f14/if-i-had-known-earlier-46654/

Out of Date but still helpful: http://content.penturners.org/library/general_reference/Getting_started_in_pen_turning.pdf

Under Library> PenTurning 101> look at all of the great information for those new to pen turning.

Your questions on wood: Everyone has preferences . . . and preferences change to. Don't just limit your turning to wood. Resin cast blanks are great too, as are aluminum and even steel and copper. AS to what pens sells best, that is up to your market's preference, your pricing and your fit & finish. As to fit and finish, you are a cabinet maker, so you know some things on that - Some people are just finicky.