Hello From Maryland

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rcnease

I would like to take a few minutes to introduce myself.

My name is Richard Nease and I live near Frederick Maryland. I started turning pens roughly 3 years ago mainly as a hobby. I never really thought I would do much more than make some just for fun and to give as gifts. Over the last year and half, I was able to sell a few pens to people I work with, and out of that, I was introduced to a brother of a guy I work with who is opened his own craft store for locally crafted items. He asked me to put my pens in his store and I have been selling my pens at his store for about 7 months now. I average about 5 or 6 pens a month. That works well for me as I have a full-time job, plus my wife and I own our own business, and I am partners with 3 other people in another venture, so I don't have a lot of time to make a bunch of pens. I really enjoy making pens and find it to be a good stress relief. My next venture with this is to start making my own blanks from local wood, and also trying to make some laminated pieces. I haven't done very many acrylic pens as I love working with wood and really don't want to do the acrylic pieces. I have made a few pepper grinders but am not very good at that yet. I need to keep practicing but I also would like to upgrade my equipment to help make it easier to drill the holes and easier to hold the grinder blanks. I look forward to reading the forums on this site and hope that I can learn a lot and also provide some insight to some people as well. I have done a lot of woodworking stuff but just decided to expand into turning projects as well. I am posting a few pictures of some of my favorite pens that I have done so far.

Attachments

• Antique Brass Stablized Maple Burl Patriot.jpg
    Antique Brass Stablized Maple Burl Patriot.jpg
    240.1 KB · Views: 172
  • Titanium Nitride Walnut Burl Comfort.jpg
    Titanium Nitride Walnut Burl Comfort.jpg
    119.2 KB · Views: 129