Hello from Katy, TX!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JoeyPerot

Hello everyone!

My name is Joey Perot and I'm a new pen turner and new to the site.

I have been working in the hardwood lumber industry for over ten years now. I currently work in sales for Northwest Hardwoods. We are a national manufacturer of hardwood lumber. We also deal in import plywood and exotic lumber.

I have spent the last ten years watching my customers build beautiful pieces of furniture, cabinetry and flooring. A few months ago I decided it was time for me to find a woodworking hobby and pen turning was just a natural fit. I've always been a little bit of a "pen snob" so the idea of making my own pens was very alluring.

I have really enjoyed making pens over the last several months. Each turn is a learning process. Each pen creates it's own frustrations and obstacles to overcome. Each pen also has it's own beauty as you never really know what you're going to find until you start cutting.

I've benefitted greatly from this forum and am very appreciative to everyone who has so generously offered advice and tips to me.

I look forward to many more years of this awesome hobby!

Joey Perot

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

More4dan

Welcome from Katy, Tx, Howdy Neighbor! I've been turning just over a year now and the addiction has taken hold.

Send me a message if you have a question, I can share my limited experience.

Danny

Last edited:

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Welcome from another Houston area turner, Joey.

Danny (More4Dan) is too modest. He makes some awesome pens and is a really nice guy. You should try to get together with him sometime & I hope you'll be able to attend our next Houston area get-together. (Nothing currently scheduled, but keep a lookout.)

howsitwork

Welcome Joey

Is it like coming home when you step into the shop???

At least you can look for the really "interesting " ones to try. I guess for you it's a real case of downsizing?