Hello from east central Indiana.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chrisrosenb

Hello everyone.
My son & I are interested in learning to turn pens. But we do not know where to start. I found this site referenced at another woodworking site. I have been woodworking for over 30 years & my son has been doing it for over 12 years. I am a self taught turner. That means that I can turn well enough to get a job done. I still have a lot to learn. My son has never turned. I have a General 260 wood lathe. Can we turn pens on it or would a mini lathe be better?
Could someone recommend some good books & videos for us to get started with? We are also looking for suppliers for pen turning supplies. We prefer internet suppliers as we live far from any major city. The closest wood woodworking store is over 50 miles away.
Thank you.

Chris

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hilltopper46

Welcome to the site. You'll find a lot of people willing to share information here.

I will leave any specific information to the General lathe to those who are familiar with it. However, if it has a morse taper on both the headstock and the tailstock it should be easy to do.

Ligget

Welcome from Scotland my friend, there is lots of great information contained in the Library of this forum, take your time and enjoy yourself whilst making pens.

Remember to keep the first pen you make (we all do), then you can look back and see just how much your skills are progressing.

rej19

New Also

Greeting from Indianapolis,