Hello: Advice on metal lathe for pen turning.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CAS

I have been turning pens for several years now with the component/ kits and have started a website.
I would like to start turning complete pens with a metal lathe. I am looking for advice on which lathe and tools to get. I would like to get one that I don't have to upgrade in a year.

What resources would you recommend?

Attachments

• 14973695235741945306545.jpg
    14973695235741945306545.jpg
    187.8 KB · Views: 228
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
You might set a budget, the one you wont have to upgrade in a year is subject to what else you will use it for. I recomend as a minimum 7 x 16 if its only going to be used occasionally for pen parts. If you want to step it up a notch the 8 x 16, 9x 20 and then the 12 x36. If you go with a 12x36 Either Grizzly or Precision Mathews you wont upgrade for a very very long time. You might find an Older American Made lathe like the Atlas/Craftsman, Logan, SouthBend Lathes but you should know what your looking at for wear and tear or know someone who can advise you. Since you asked what lathe I will take it you would need some advice and I would stay away from them. There are some great deals but you can easily buy an expensive boat anchor. I would not recomend the Taig, Unimat, or Sherline lathes for a beginner unless you find one really really cheap. There are people that really like the 11 x 28 Precision Mathews with the 1 1/2 inch spindle bore. Tooling will almost double the cost the lathe. Be prepared.

I just recently replied to a thread much like this one. Check out what people were saying over here:
http://www.penturners.org/forum/f166/little-machine-shop-sieg-c3-148747/