Greetings from the west of Ireland

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

efitz

Hi all,

Having spent the last 20 years in manufacturing and retail management, I've decided I need a hobby (which I will enjoy during retirement in about 25 years time - so I've plenty of time to practice).

I'm a complete newbie to wood turning but I'm really enjoying it. I will post photos when I move all my gear from an old (drafty) 8ftx4ft wooden shed to a purpose built 13ftx7ft block shed. I'm in the process of drylining it and soon will have power - no more extension leads into the house. I'm trying to rig up a 1000 watt bagless vaccuum cleaner to handle dust extraction from the lathe. Any tips would be appreciated.

Eamonn.

broitblat

Welcome, Eamonn.

I figure I'll have plenty of time to practice, too. After what the economy has been doing, I doubt I've ever retire :-(

-Barry

darrin1200

Welcome to the forum

Hope you get your lathe up and running. Maybe you could try your hand at the PITH. I know I would love to see more people from across the great pond.
This is my first exchange. I have been turning for about 6 months now. I think this will be a great oportunity to show and learn from others.

efitz

Welcome to the forum

Hope you get your lathe up and running. Maybe you could try your hand at the PITH. I know I would love to see more people from across the great pond.
This is my first exchange. I have been turning for about 6 months now. I think this will be a great oportunity to show and learn from others.

Just got some timber from an old church that is being renovated (Old oak beams). When I get some blanks cut, I'll submit one for PITH.

Eamonn.

darrin1200

Just got some timber from an old church that is being renovated (Old oak beams). When I get some blanks cut, I'll submit one for PITH.

Eamonn.

The PITH is actually an international exchange event.