Greetings from South Texas.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

guardian_0005

First off, thank you for allowing me to be a part of the site. I've been lurking around for awhile now and decided it's probably in my best interest to go ahead and join. :) A bit of background. I've only been doing turning work for about 8 months now. I came into a Shopsmith 520 (No snide remarks you.) :cool: I'm 33 years young but I have a special place in my heart for American made machines that last. Anyway, first thing I turned when I got it setup, trued, and dialed in was a key chain for my wife. Then a bowl out of canary wood, followed shortly by my first pen. I'm hooked. I've tuned somewhere in the neighborhood of 80 items from pens to bowls to razors to stoppers. Not bad for a guy with a full time job and a family. I'll have to post some of my work when I get a chance so I can tap into the plethora of knowledge here.

I'm an Army vet and work for the government as of this posting so I hold a very deep respect and appreciation for those who have served and those who directly support our veterans. I say this because I came across your pens for service members section and I think you all are awesome for doing that. Kudos.

Anyway, I look forward to putting something into and getting much more out of IAP. Thanks again.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Cmiles1985

Welcome aboard from soon-to-be-not-so-sunny Corpus Christi!

Thanks for your service to our country and citizens!

What part of STX are you in?

Cmiles1985

HA! Closer than you think sir. Actually in Corpus myself. A recent transplant to the area. Almost a year now.