Greetings/intro:Happycat

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

happycat

Greetings! I'm new to this forum and this hobby. I am a social worker and work in a mental health clinic in rural New York state. My primary hobby is bladesmithing and I am more recently getting into more blacksmithing projects. I gradually became aware of penturning while looking for handle material for knives online. Kept seeing all these damm pen turning blanks (which are usually just smaller than what I need...;-(
I am a bit of a pen junkie and have got one in my hand all day long at work, so I am in a never ending search for the perfect pen (or at least more comfortable, interesting etc than what I've currently got). It just occured to me that this is exactally how i got into knife making...
Anyway, being a social worker (ie poor), I'm on a shoe string budget, so the lathes I've been seeing looked out of my reach, until I saw the drill press lathe that Penn State Industries offers. I asked for and got it for Christmas.
So that's where I'm at so far. I'm looking thru the Penn State Industries catalog to see what else I need to get going.
So far it looks like this: 1. a mandrel to fit the drill press lathe
2. Some lathe tools to turn with.
3. Some pen kits
4. 7mm Barrell trimmer
Wood I've got. I'm sure I can set up a drilling jig. I've got lots of sand paper, finishing suplies etc.
If anybody reading this happens to see any gaping holes in my starter list here, please let me know..... I'm looking forward to getting going with pens. I love working with good tools. If its a tool I made myself, its even better. The pen is my primary "tool" at work, so I think I'm really going to enjoy this journey.
Be well,
Ed Wilson
(Happycat Cutlery)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

broitblat

Welcome, Ed!

I got my start on the drill press set up and it works pretty well.