Greetings from Colorado Springs

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wfsteadman

Greetings all,
My name is Wally Steadman and I am new to Pen Turning. As a matter of fact I am so new that I have not purchased my equipment yet. I turned a couple of pens in a friends garage a few years ago and really wanted to get into it and now I am taking the plunge.

The Lathes I am looking at are (choice is top to bottom)
JET JWL-1015VS
Delta Industrial 46-460 12-1/2-Inch Variable-Speed Midi Lathe
JET JWL-1221VS

I wanted to NOT buy a drill press and drill the pens on the lathe, and read on here about some tools that will allow this so wanted to get feedback from the experienced. If I were to get a one of the lathes above, what tools would you recommend for drilling blanks on the lathe. I want to make sure they work on the specified lathe.

If you use a different lathe and think it might suit me better let me know as I am still in research phase.

Also as an aside, I was looking at Drill Presses just in case and could not find many with a 3" quill/stroke so wanted to get recommendations on Drill presses that are not super expensive but that work well for Pen Turning just in case.

Very excited to be starting this new hobby.

Thanks
Wally

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mr Vic

Greetings Wally and welcome to this new addiction. Started pens on my Shopsmith and when I decided top really make a lot more I went out and bought a Jet 1014vs. In retrospect I should have gone a bit bigger as I find myself turning other things.

Now for a shamless plug: I'm president of the local AAW Chapter, the Pikes Peak Woodturners. We meet the first Friday each month from 5:30pm to 8:00pm at the Beamis School of Art in downtown Colorado Springs. Come on out and join us. Pikes Peak Woodturners | Turning wood in the Front Range

Mr Vic