Cheers from Goose Creek, SC

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JackTheSquid

I was simply searching the web for some information on tailstock drilling, when I reached this site via Google. What an amazing find!!! Although I am brand new to turning as I rec'd a mini Jet lathe for Christmas, I am truly hooked and am loving it. I am a retired Navy Chief, and currently am working in the manufacturing sector as a maintenance electrician/technician. I have made some pens and bottle stoppers and given them away as gifts, and am beginning to get serious with sales in mind because everyone just loves this stuff. It's nice to see such a thriving and supportive community and I hope I can be an asset going forward.

Jack

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Welcome Jack. Join in the madness of this work/hobby/money hole! :biggrin: Don't be afraid to post some picts of your work!

So, below is a link to a PDF file that gives a general overview of tools, methods, pens and options that might be helpful in making pens. It does not go into detail of the many aspects at all, but just gives a general overview and options. There are a few minor mistakes that will hopefully be corrected in the near future but overall it gives some basic directions.

http://www.penturners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=42446

markgum

Welcome Jack from the west coast. Ex-navy myself spent my time in Norfolk. (only did 6 years, then kicked out for disabliity). Lots of great info here, and look forward to seeing your work.

skywizzard

Jack, welcome from GA. I know where Goose Creek is located. My son lives in Summerville. I can assure you the the hobby is addictive and this is a great resource for information and support.

Hey Jack,
Here's a welcome from NORTH CHARLESTON!! Grew up in goose creek, parents still live there. Lived in summerville last 8 years and moved to N.Chas 1 year ago to be closer to work. Hope to see more of you around the site.

DJ

charlestonpenworks.com