buying in bulk

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Hayden213

Hi, I'm Dave I'm new to this site, but I've been turning pens and studying turning for about6 years now. I just started my own business and I want to sell wood too. My father has a friend in South America that has a bunch of Cocobolo that he would like to sell me wholesale, but the problem is I've never bought alot of wood wholesale, and he's new to this too. How do I do this? do I pay by the pound and type or what? Any help you guys could give me would be awesome!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Winchester, Hampshire. SO22 5LB, United Kingdom.
Welcome Dave,
Chris is right - it does only come from Central America - however there are a couple of very similar species that do come from South America. A lovely wood to turn but is very oily - clogs the abrasive! I was in Costa Rica ealier this year and saw many Cocobolo trees lying in the forests. It is used extensively by the local craftsmen for carving and their work is beautiful.
Enjoy the IAP - you will find so much useful information - just explore the site.
Ian

airrat

welcome to the site, I have never done any bulk ordering so I am not sure how you would do it. Just remember with cocobolo if you are cutting alot of wood into blanks, remember to use dust protection equipment. It is one of the woods you can build an allergic reaction to quickly and it would be bad if that happened 1/2 way through your stock.

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
I have no idea about the shipping, but if it looks good, I'll buy some.
I love cocobolo but around here I can't get it with good figuring at a decent price. Keep me in mind on this, ok?