Beginner here

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bfrikken

Hi - My name is Bill. I'm from Michigan.

Been woodworking for close to 8 years. I was able to try my hand at turning when I was at my father-in-law's about a month ago. I got hooked. I recently bought a mini lathe and some pen kits to get started. This is my first pen attempt. I have a lot to learn with finishing, as it did not go well at all. I had to sand off two attempts and I finally put on an oil based minwax finish I had, thus the matte finish. It still looks nice and I'm happy with it:) I'll try my hand with a few more slim lines I think. The used tools I bought were sharpened before I got them, so that'll be a next thing to do is figure out how to sharpen for myself.

200851142834_pen1%20002.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PaulDoug

Hey! I get to be the first to welcome you. Nice job on the pen. I like a matte finish on some pens. I also think that finishing is the hardest part of the pen turning. I keep getting a little better with each pen I'm pretty new at this also). Patients is the escret.

RonInSpringTX

Welcome Bill from Spring,TX.
You may want to look into getting some HUT wax sticks (the brown one, satin) also, the HUT Crystal Coat (liquid carnuba type wax) and some Renaissance Wax. (As well as a load of clean soft cotton rags & some cheese cloth and some micro-mesh pads, up to 12,000 grit) First sand up to the 12,000 grit.(this is for wood blanks, acrylic is different!!!) Use the stick first, take it off with the cheese cloth, then a couple of coats of the Crystal Coat, then the Ren wax. (crystal coat & ren wax you buff with the cotton rags)