I need help figuring out why I can't get icons above my text box while posting? - International Association of Penturners
     International Association of Penturners
Pens for Service Members
 
Support The IAP

Go Back   International Association of Penturners > Welcome to penturners.org! > Site Help, Tips, How-To > Forum How-To
  Forgot Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Logged on members can hide ads!

Welcome to penturners.org!

You've found the home of The International Association of Penturners. You are currently viewing our site as a guest, which gives you limited access to view discussions, photos, and library articles.

Consider joining our community today. You'll have full access to all of our content, be able to enter our contests, find local chapters near you, and post your questions and share your experience with our members all over the world.

Membership is completely free!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2011, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: warren, michigan, USA.
Posts: 1,736
Photos: 0

Default I need help figuring out why I can't get icons above my text box while posting?

This was posted in another tread I had going frist post #11
Help with pics

You can see icons above and to the right on the text box well on the bottom of it as well.I only have the bottom icons with nothing to the right or on the top on the text box.So this is not letting post pics in the places I want(one at a time),I have to just upload all photos at once.This makes it hard to describe things well in a classified ad,and now two of my 14 days are gone for the ad.I hope someone has a answer I have been around the horn with this one and no one seems to know whats going on??????????????????????????
Thanks a bunch,Victor
__________________
http://landfilllumber.com/
http://stores.ebay.com/landfilllumber
A rich person is not one who has the most but the one who needs the least.

\"Keep Tree-Cycling\"
Likes: (1)
LandfillLumber is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-17-2011, 08:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northglenn Co
Photos: 18

Default

Can you take a screen shot of what you see?
Likes: (1)
qballizhere is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-17-2011, 09:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,240
Photos: 0

Default

Victor,
Are you running a software Antivirus/Firewall program? You may want to try to disable that and try. A screen shot would be really nice to see what you have. When you open it you can hit Alt + Print Scr(een) an paste it into 'Paint' and when you do a 'save as' make sure the bottom option/dropdown has .jpeg selected. This will save it like a pic......that you cant upload. Nevermind
Likes: (1)
Justturnin is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Advertisement
Old 11-17-2011, 09:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,240
Photos: 0

Default

Wait I just read you comment below #11. You are trying to Edit an existing post. You have to select the "Go Advanced" option below it. Then you will see all that extra stuff.
Likes: (1)
Justturnin is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-17-2011, 09:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: warren, michigan, USA.
Posts: 1,736
Photos: 0

Default

I never get the icons no matter if its editing/reply to a tread/or a new tread totally.I just don't get the option for some reason.As far as a fire wall only if the computer has one already(I'm guessing it does),but I have added nothing to it.A screen shoot is the same as the one I posted above minus the top and right icons,above the text box I only get "reason for editing" very top of page then I have the post title below that,then the text box.Everything else is the same in my screen except the icons(and the ones I need).Thanks everyone,Victor
__________________
http://landfilllumber.com/
http://stores.ebay.com/landfilllumber
A rich person is not one who has the most but the one who needs the least.

\"Keep Tree-Cycling\"
Likes: (1)
LandfillLumber is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-17-2011, 09:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,240
Photos: 0

Default

Would you be willing to change your pass and let me log in as you to see if the issue follows to a different computer? If so PM me
Likes: (1)
Justturnin is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-17-2011, 09:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Former Moderator
 
alphageek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Green Bay, WI, USA.
Posts: 5,067
Photos: 7

Default

Victor, I believe that I figured out your issue....

Go into your User CP.
On the left choose "edit options"
Scroll down to the bottom of the page.
The 2nd to last box is the editor you have choosen.

I'll bet yours is set to "Basic Editor". Change it to "Standard Editor" and save the changes.

Then go try your edit again.
Likes: (1)
alphageek is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-17-2011, 02:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: warren, michigan, USA.
Posts: 1,736
Photos: 0

Default Your the MAN!!!!!

That was it thank you so much for taking your time out to help the computer stupid.I would have never figured that out in a million years.I didn't set it to basic it defualted to it somehow???I'm guessing I'm one of very few that this has happened to,maybe its somehow my computer helped to pick the basic option(like a auto thing)?Any ways I feel better knowing it was not just me being a carpenter(lol),but the system or computer.Thanks everyone for helping me out,Victor


Quote:
Originally Posted by alphageek View Post
Victor, I believe that I figured out your issue....

Go into your User CP.
On the left choose "edit options"
Scroll down to the bottom of the page.
The 2nd to last box is the editor you have choosen.

I'll bet yours is set to "Basic Editor". Change it to "Standard Editor" and save the changes.

Then go try your edit again.
__________________
http://landfilllumber.com/
http://stores.ebay.com/landfilllumber
A rich person is not one who has the most but the one who needs the least.

\"Keep Tree-Cycling\"

Last edited by LandfillLumber; 11-17-2011 at 04:48 PM.
Likes: (1)
LandfillLumber is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-17-2011, 04:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marietta, Ga. USA
Posts: 883
Photos: 18

Default

That must have been that negative rating on Ebay that caused that to happen!
Likes: (1)
Gary Beasley is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-17-2011, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Former Moderator
 
alphageek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Green Bay, WI, USA.
Posts: 5,067
Photos: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LandfillLumber View Post
That was it thank you so much for taking your time out to help the computer stupid.I would have never figured that out in a million years.I didn't set it to basic it defualted to it somehow???I'm guessing I'm one of very few that this has happened to,maybe its somehow my computer helped to pick the basic option(like a auto thing)?Any ways I feel better knowing it was not just me being a carpenter(lol),but the system or computer.Thanks everyone for helping me out,Victor


Quote:
Originally Posted by alphageek View Post
Victor, I believe that I figured out your issue....

Go into your User CP.
On the left choose "edit options"
Scroll down to the bottom of the page.
The 2nd to last box is the editor you have choosen.

I'll bet yours is set to "Basic Editor". Change it to "Standard Editor" and save the changes.

Then go try your edit again.
Your welcome Victor. Thats why they pay me the big bucks! Oh, crud - this is the place that DOESN'T pay me!!
Likes: (1)
alphageek is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Related Content
Logged on members can hide ads
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

Content Copyright © 2003-2016 by Penturners.org, LLC; All Rights Reserved
Terms Of Service   Acceptable Use Policy