Too deep on acrylic - International Association of Penturners
     International Association of Penturners
Pens for Service Members
 
Support The IAP

Go Back   International Association of Penturners > Welcome to penturners.org! > Site Help, Tips, How-To
  Forgot Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Site Help, Tips, How-To Get and give help for using the FORUM SOFTWARE.


Logged on members can hide ads!

Welcome to penturners.org!

You've found the home of The International Association of Penturners. You are currently viewing our site as a guest, which gives you limited access to view discussions, photos, and library articles.

Consider joining our community today. You'll have full access to all of our content, be able to enter our contests, find local chapters near you, and post your questions and share your experience with our members all over the world.

Membership is completely free!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2017, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
RWD
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Photos: 0

Default Too deep on acrylic

I bought a pen kit and turned the blank down too far (used the wrong size bushings) and was wondering if anyone has had any luck recasting blanks that they have gone too far on?
RWD is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-24-2017, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
duncsuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Wilmington, MA
Posts: 1,215
Photos: 1

Default

I don't do casting, but I have built up acrylic blanks using many thin coats of CA.
__________________
Duncan Suss
website: FruitOfTheLathe | facebook: FruitOfTheLathe

duncsuss is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-24-2017, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
RWD
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Photos: 0

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duncsuss View Post
I don't do casting, but I have built up acrylic blanks using many thin coats of CA.
How thick have you built up, I'm about 1.5 mm too deep. Didn't realize the pen was a wall st 3 and turned it to wall st 2 bushings.
RWD is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Advertisement
Old 11-24-2017, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
skiprat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In a Skip in Wales
Photos: 225

Default

I reckon you should just turn it down to the tube and start again. Chalk it up to experience...

Oh...and hello, welcome to IAP
__________________
www.skiprat-pens.com

Last edited by skiprat; 11-24-2017 at 05:49 PM.
skiprat is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-24-2017, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
duncsuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Wilmington, MA
Posts: 1,215
Photos: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RWD View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by duncsuss View Post
I don't do casting, but I have built up acrylic blanks using many thin coats of CA.
How thick have you built up, I'm about 1.5 mm too deep. Didn't realize the pen was a wall st 3 and turned it to wall st 2 bushings.
Not quite that far -- but close to it.

Want to buy a kit to go with the barrel you just turned?
__________________
Duncan Suss
website: FruitOfTheLathe | facebook: FruitOfTheLathe

duncsuss is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-24-2017, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
magpens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Photos: 49

Default

Hi, and welcome to IAP !!! . But I now realize you have "been here" for 3 years.

I agree with Skip ... 1.5 mm is too much to build up with CA glue, even assuming that the 1.5 mm is on the diameter, and not the radius.

I see no good reason that someone could not cast the blank and build it up that way, but the cost of paying them to do that and shipping both ways would more than exceed the cost of buying a new blank.

As Skip said, turn down to the brass tube and start again ... unless you think it would fit a Wall St 2 .... and then buy that kit.
__________________
Mal



magpens is online now   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-24-2017, 07:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Local Chapter Manager
 
ed4copies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Racine, WI, USA.
Posts: 23,277
Photos: 27

Default

Wall Street II and Wall Street III use the same tube, so the simple answer is use that blank to make a WSII (or nearly any other sierra style pen)
__________________
Ed Brown
Likes: (1)
ed4copies is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 11-24-2017, 07:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
RWD
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Photos: 0

Default

I ended up having a Wall St II kit that I messed up the tube on and it worked out so I don't have to mess with it after all! Thank you all for the input.

Last edited by RWD; 11-24-2017 at 08:19 PM.
RWD is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Related Content
Logged on members can hide ads
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

Content Copyright © 2003-2016 by Penturners.org, LLC; All Rights Reserved
Terms Of Service   Acceptable Use Policy