What is this machine?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Takari

Hello! This is my first post here but I've been lingering for some time.

First I wanted to give a hearty thanks to all who so willingly share information on this forum. So very generous of you all. Thank you!

My question is about the "lathe" used in the video linked below. Do you know what it is or what it's called? Sorry if that's a stupid question. I'm a newbie.

I posted this in advanced pen making because the man making the pen is well advanced. It's mesmerizing to watch him work.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=08pUuLREZR4&t=1164s

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

"That machine" looks like a (possibly home made) dedicated pen lathe with a collet chuck.

Are you sure that is a fan on the far end of the buffer ? . From just a quick look, I think it might be the other buffer wheel.

Welcome to IAP, Takari !!!

Hawkdave

The thing I noticed about his setup is, he had a central motor and was using a belt drive setup to power all of the machinery. That is not true for the Aeroplane grinder/polisher he was using.:biggrin:

You picked up on safety issues that were abundant in his workshop, but did you notice he was also barefoot. I think coming from a working environment where safety is paramount, we shudder when we see practices such as this. But, he has worked this way all of his life and still has all of his toes and fingers in tact.

I also took notice of all the home made tools he was using and how many different tools he used just for the one pen. Yes, he is a master at what he does.

I think the machine he was using is very old and may have been changed and adapted to the type of work he is doing.

Dave.

Takari

"That machine" looks like a (possibly home made) dedicated pen lathe with a collet chuck.

Are you sure that is a fan on the far end of the buffer ? . From just a quick look, I think it might be the other buffer wheel.

Welcome to IAP, Takari !!!

Thanks for the welcome!