Single start tap/die source

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alexkuzn

McMaster sells 1/2" x 32 tap for $30 and die for $60
That seems a little steep.

Where do you get your single start taps and dies for cap threading?

PS. I've had bad experience with HF tools before and would rather try to avoid buying from them anything that should be more or less precise.

Thanks,
Alex

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Try JohnnyCNC. I have gotten several taps and dies from him for specific purposes. I can't say that I am an expert on tools, but they were all exceptional quality, and the ones I have gotten a chance to use have worked fantastically.

cnirenberg

McMaster sells 1/2" x 32 tap for $30 and die for $60
That seems a little steep.

Where do you get your single start taps and dies for cap threading?

PS. I've had bad experience with HF tools before and would rather try to avoid buying from them anything that should be more or less precise.

Thanks,
Alex

Alex,
Try Victor Tap and die (http://www.victornet.com/productpages/tapanddie1.html), they have been the cheapest that I have found, but the rub is you need a 25$ min. order. They have the single start separates that you are looking for. As for the HF set, I will agree that most of the HF stuff is cheap crap, but does serve a purpose. Did you learn to drive in a Maserati, possibly, but typically no, someone let you drive their sisters hoopti, and when the gears got stripped or a power pole got hit (don't ask)no one was really bothered. The HF set that has what you are looking for is about 35$, and is very good at threading acrylic, brass and aluminum, tapping drill rod etc. The muti-start sets that came in the group buy were considerably more expensive, 190$ or so I think. Just a suggestion.

ldb2000