Required tools for prepping resin with embedded bottle caps

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

putnamm

I'm playing around with casting resin blanks. I'm just starting out and learning what items works best for embedding. Right now I'm using Castin' Craft clear polyester resin with Castin' Craft rectangular (3" by 5") molds.

It just so happens that I have a good deal of beer bottle caps lying around. (Go figure...) So one day when I was feeling creative, I cast a 3x5 block of resin with bottle caps embedded in it. Then I got to thinking...could I cut/drill/turn part of this in to a pen??

I know that I can use my traditional tools to cut the resin. But what about the bottle caps? I believe they are made of steel, and while they are thin, they are still STEEL. So, do I need to use some kind of special band saw blade to cut this resin block? Would I need a special kind of drill bit? What about lathe tools--can I use my existing HSS tools to turn a resin blank that has bottle caps embedded in it?

Thanks for your feedback.

-Mark

5otwti.jpg

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Mark it is done all the time. If I am reading this right you have a cast block with caps in it and you want to cut into pen blanks. My question is why bother. Use that for a pen stand. Just like watch parts you can bend the caps around a tube and cast them. To cut them there are various ways. Some use a die punch, some use a pair of tin snips (angled work best). Some use a good pair of scissors. They are thin enough. Just take the lining out of the cap if it has one. Make sure they are cleaned also because alcohol and resin do not play well together. CA to tube. Many things you can line the tube with prior to the caps or just use the tubes. Then cast.

There is many threads on this. Do a search and you will find some more answers. Not sure but i think there is even an article in the library about this. Good luck and look forward to seeing what you come up with.