newbi needs help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

1 eyed turner

I have been turning pens, on and off for 5 years. Recently I have wanted to turn closed end pens and did my first one today. I decided to use the parts from a Jr. Statesment kit that was missing parts, and use the nib coupler and Fountain nib. To match this to the pen cap, I took the center band off the plastic coupler and just pressed the coupler ito the cap. I turned this on my pen manderal by using a bunch of spacers until I could get the tube to the end of the manderal and brought up the tailstock.

I expenced it to be a learning experience and it was. Problems with the prototype include:

1)cap out-of-round. I used the appropate busing for the nib coupler end and brought the tailstock up to the center of the piece, but the piece turned out of round at the bushing end. I have no idea why this happened.

2) when I thread the nib coupler onto the cap there is a big gap. I expect that this is because I took the center band off. How then do you get a good tight close without using the center band?

Any thought or advise would be much apreciated.

1 eyed turner

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RAdams

Banned
Congrats on the first closed end pen!!!

I will try to help what i can, but there are much better people than me at closed end. I am sure they will be along shortly to offer some better help.

Let's start with a question. What method did you use to hold the blank on the lathe? There are several tutorials in the library here that offer different means of material holding... pin chucks, jam chucks, adjustable mandrel, etc. etc. Understanding this will further help figure out why it was OOR. I use the adjustable mandrel and have very little problem with OOR.