Impulse purchase: Alumlite/burl blank. What do I do?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

putnamm

So I was in my local Woodcraft and saw this Alumlite/burl blank that looked really nice. I couldn't help myself, so I picked it up. I've never used one of these before, so I was hoping some of the more experienced turners could give me all the tips for working with this thing.

Some questions: Do I need to paint the barrels? To trim the blanks, should I use sanding or a pen mill? Should I sand wet or dry? Is finishing with CA recommended?

Thanks.
Mark

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mike8850

When in doubt I always reverse paint. I prefer to sand all my blanks to length. The whole blank gets sanded up to 350 grit dry. I then apply 5 or more coats of CA and then wet sand with Micro Mesh.
Hope this helps,
Mike

putnamm

When in doubt I always reverse paint. I prefer to sand all my blanks to length. The whole blank gets sanded up to 350 grit dry. I then apply 5 or more coats of CA and then wet sand with Micro Mesh.
Hope this helps,
Mike

Mike, by "reverse paint" do you mean paint the barrel or paint the inside of the blank? Or both?

Thanks for all your help.

Mike8850

Sorry, I just paint the inside of the blank. Usually just a quick shot of spray paint as close to the blank color will do. It should dry for at least a day.
Also I glue my tubes in with epoxy. Sometimes CA will react with the paint.
Mike

putnamm

Sorry, I just paint the inside of the blank. Usually just a quick shot of spray paint as close to the blank color will do. It should dry for at least a day.
Also I glue my tubes in with epoxy. Sometimes CA will react with the paint.
Mike

Mike, can you recommend a brand of epoxy?

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
I don't know where the term REVERSE paint came from. It sounds confusing and, causes someone to ask what it means. You either paint the tube or, you paint inside the blank. Where is the reverse in this?