I am an expert now!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Laurenr

After much study, and many mistakes, I was able to make a kitless pen. Yes folks, the "short-bus" kid succeded. So, ...that makes me an expert!

I now have a nice, ok maybe not so nice, 6mm fountain pen, made from cocobolo, with a black Alumilite section.

Now I can do it, on to doing it better.

Have any of you used black Delrin for sections?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

eranox

I'm jealous! Did you use a wood lathe or a metal lathe? Kitless pens are on a very long list of "someday" endeavors, but they're close to the top.

plantman

It only took me seventy years to make my first one. Isn't it a great feeling to look at something and know you made it from scratch yourself. Almost like having a child born. Well, maybe not exactly the same feeling, but a good one at the least. Congrats on the conquest !!! Now, if you can sell it for $1000 you will be a "Master". Need some photos. Jim S

Laurenr

I am an expert now

I think I have attached pics.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    164.6 KB · Views: 543

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
Congratulations Mr. Expert! :biggrin: Really, you HAVE gone a step above by, making a kitless pen from wood. Now, go one step further. Take a little more threads off and, line up the grain pattern from cap to barrel. Nice work!

duncsuss

Congratulations! It's not so long ago that I made my first kitless, I remember the feeling of victory when I finished it :biggrin:

Chuck (Dalecamino) suggested one way you could improve it -- but my recommendation is to not try anything on that pen. Keep it as is, but look at it with a critical eye to see in how many little ways you could do things differently in the next one.

I wouldn't take the chance of destroying my first kitless pen by trying to make it better, done that kind of thing far too many times :rolleyes: