How to Make Watch Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Skye

Not to start this hubub up all over again, but he registered (was he awarded like they do patents?) for a Copyright, not a Patent.

The copyright protects the form of expression rather than the subject matter of the writing. For example, a description of a machine could be copyrighted, but this would only prevent others from copying the description; it would not prevent others from writing a description of their own or from making and using the machine. Copyrights are registered by the Copyright Office of the Library of Congress.

So, while I'm no lawyer, it seems to me he hold the Copyright on the idea of a watch blank but he can't prevent someone from making them.

mick

Does that mean that if he notified you then you would have to remove any photos of pens that he holds copyrights to? That would include watch part, cigar label, beer cap, and fly fishing pens. Sounds crazy to me.

When's he going to register a copyright for air?

Russianwolf

The copyright office also says this:

What is copyright infringement?
As a general matter, copyright infringement occurs when a copyrighted work is reproduced, distributed, performed, publicly displayed, or made into a derivative work without the permission of the copyright owner.

So if he didn't obtain permission from the original manufacturers, he could be in trouble himself.

and they also say this

When is my work protected?
Your work is under copyright protection the moment it is created and fixed in a tangible form that it is perceptible either directly or with the aid of a machine or device.

Which would say to me that PSI and CSUSA and others who are selling blanks gleaned from artist of this site are infringing on their unregistered copyrights.

Last edited:

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam