How to drill acrylic rods?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Sirs,
I am new to working with acrylic and facing lot of problems trying to drill acrylic rods on lathe-the material is melting like jelly at the drill head and sticking to the flute of the drill. I have tried to reduce speed even down to 100 rpm to reduce heat- but no improvement.
I was using metal drills on clear acrylic rod.

Please , I need some advice how to correctly drill acrylic material.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Most likely this is not acrylic, but a celluloid of some type.

A picture might help identify the material.

In all cases, if it is melting, sharpen your drill bit, and cool the bit and hole---use water or air. Retract the bit often. Once the bit gets stuck in the blank, you have a much more difficult problem to resolve---so avoid that by retracting the bit from the blank often!!

Some celluloids are very heat sensitive--sounds like that is what you have.

wyone

I go in no more than 1/4 inch.. pull it back out.. and go deeper and pull out.. and all the time blowing air onto the bit to cool both it and the blank and also help to get rid of any material that is being removed so that heat does not build up

Paul in OKC

Did a similar material a few years ago. Agree with pulling drill out often, even every 1/8" or less. You can't feed too slow when doing something like this. You don't want to let the drill rub in the hole, but feeding in and out in small bites wont hurt at all. You can use either a spray bottle with water, or even a brush and a cup to apply it.

KenV

According to Ed Davidson (Yo-Yo Spin) there is a huge difference between extruded rod and cast rod. The cast rod works on a lathe. The extruded rod melts, gums, and does not work well. Ed used rod for making yo-yos with an artistic bent.

Cast or extruded rod???