How to cut threads on wood lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Gilrock

So I've dug through several threads and articles on the forum and bought some taps, dies, delrin, nibs, feed housings, etc. I was planning trying to make a die holder similar to the one shown in George's article.

I've never tried to cut threads on my lathe before and I have a wood lathe so I was looking for pointers. So for a wood lathe is the basic technique to rotate the lathe by hand and the tailstock is supposed to be left loose and get pulled in? I'm a little worried about my tailstock sliding smoothly if thats the case. I have the Rikon 70-100. My handle that tightens the tailstock is famous for falling too far down with gravity and causing the tailstock to not slide easily...I'm always having to lift it a little to get it to slide. Plus that seems like a ton a weight to move. I was thinking I'd need to try to be helping it along by pushing with my right hand as I turn the other side with my left.

For the die holder I was brainstorming why not manufacture a shaft with a groove in it that would allow the die holder to freely slide as the threads are cut and the groove would prevent the die holder from rotating? Set screws could be adjusted into the groove.

Thanks in advance for any help,
Gil

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Gilrock

Try this thread http://www.penturners.org/forum/f56/1-1-2-die-holder-3-4-chuck-91835/
Starting around post 12. I made my own die holder using some maple stock I had on hand and it works great.

Terry

Yeah I've seen that thread but I think I missed that embedded video the first time. I've already got 2" Delrin on the way so I was going to make one very similar to his. I can't watcht he video yet but from his description it sounds like the set screws would prevent the holder from sliding and rotating. I was dreaming of a setup where it could slide but not rotate.