Gold or Silver Powder?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

marionquill

I need to make a metal fountain pen and am planning to use M3 stainless steel with iron. I need to get the finish on the pen a midnight blue. I think a patina would work or powder coat but would prefer a patina -- do you think it will work? Any thoughts on what patina chemical would create a midnight blue?

I plan to put a solid tape on the pen in a motif design so I can leave silver accents behind after the patina. Within those silver accents, I plan to dimple in a pattern and then fill that with silver or gold powder. I've never done this before and am wondering if any of you have experience with it. If so, what is the complexity and what did you use to adhere the powder to the metal - I'm thinking a lacquer would hold it but not sure what kind would work best.

If the motif design doesn't come out well, I was thinking about trying PMC-III to make the motif but how would you get it to stick to the M3 metal blank without making it look like a filigree pen?

Thanks for your time and inputs!
Jason

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

thewishman

Jason, it sounds like you are trying multiple firsts on this one pen, that much "newness" always leads me</u> to make frustrating mistakes. I am one for trying new things, though.

Check with the people that manufacture the M3 blanks and get their input as to patina/powder coat. Also, they may have some advice about adhering powder and attaching PMC accents.

Filling small indentations with a power/metal shavings takes some practice on its own - try it with a scrap wood blank to start. Most people use thin CA for that process.

Good luck with your project! Please let us know how it turns out.

Chris

btboone

You could try a scrap and heat it to high heat. The heat alone might create the blue you need. Acid should turn the iron black and leave stainless alone.

Texatdurango