A few kitless questions.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ramparte

Hi,

I'm new to pen turning. Did a few kits and then dove into kitless. It's working out ok - I have 5 workable pens so far, hope the pic comes through (yeah, I made a white ink pen. Not a great idea) I had a few questions for the folks who've been doing this a while:

- I worry about the strength of the wood pens I've made. Does anyone insert brass tubes into these as kitless pens for strength, or is it unevcesary. I think the wood walls are about 2mm.

- does anyone have a good solution for sealing a wood cap so the nib doesn't dry out?

- I'm using m12x1.0 and m10x1.0 for the cap and barrel threads. On the wood pens I use ebonite for the threads and it's fine. On acrylic pens, the acrylic seems really fragile and I get some threads cracking off in use. Does anyone have a favorite set of thread dimensions for this kind of pen?

- one of the pens is ebonite. Really cool (if stinky). But I can't get a high gloss finish on it. Does anyone have a good finish for this material? I guess I could just do standard CA finish?

Attachments

• IMG_1031.jpg
    IMG_1031.jpg
    149.9 KB · Views: 434
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

More4dan

Lovely pens!

If I stack up your tread dimensions correctly, there isn't much wall left between the cap thread and the section thread, assuming they sit atop each other. The thickness left over would be between 0.23mm and 0.5mm, 0.009" and 0.020". Probably not enough wall thickness for anything but metal. If you offset the threads for the cap and section where they don't sit on top of each other, you might be ok. I use 0.75mm pitch threads to give me an additional wall thickness when stacking the threads. I have use 9mm x 0.75 and 11mm x 0.75 threads for acrylic pens without issue stacked. With 1.0 pitched threads you will likely need to step up the cap to 13mm for acrylics.

The following site was very helpful for me in designing my kitless and picking threads.