• candidate3.jpg
    candidate3.jpg
    164.5 KB · Views: 1,663
  • candidate2.jpg
    candidate2.jpg
    113.4 KB · Views: 1,601
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

edstreet

Only if you don't know how to handle it :)

Seriously tho, the first one does have some pre-cracks, the other 2 are about as good quality as you can get. Even tho the first one has pre-cracks in select areas the working on that is up there so there is great potential in it, so far anyways.

OKLAHOMAN

Ed, good luck. Cracking on hair horn, as Buffalo horn is keratin, the same substance as hair and nails will cause them to crack, as with things like snakewood, gator bone and others not all will but they are prone to crack.

edstreet

Thanks.

I am actually doing a project on buffalo horn for IAP. It is an upcoming project detailing all those, and much more. I have some good amount of experience with buffalo horn. The way I work it there is no smell to it.

Jim Burr

Banned
Regardless of how it's handled...if you don't filter up and clean up, it does...not may, does cause pulmonary fibrosis. Get on the transplant list now because that is the only cure. Hope it works out though...been wanting to have a lash at a chunk.

raar25

Did I read correctly that working with buffalo horn causes pulmonary fibrosis? Isnt there some level of prolonged exposure involved or can just one exposure cause it?

seamus7227

Regardless of how it's handled...if you don't filter up and clean up, it does...not may, does cause pulmonary fibrosis. Get on the transplant list now because that is the only cure. Hope it works out though...been wanting to have a lash at a chunk.

I always read people on the forum stating this, but can you please back up your statement with a link to where this has been confirmed. Respectfully submitted because while i realize we all should use some sort of respirator while turning, no one really says much about all of the other stuff we turn, and much of it is also dusty when turning.