Another Try at Kit-less

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

1dweeb

I took another stab at making a kit-less pen and I must say everything went much smoother this time. :) I am not very good with pictures but you can probably get an idea of where I am at with these shots. In all this is my 4th attempt and I do enjoy the challenge.

Attachments

• kitless 1a.jpg
    kitless 1a.jpg
    26.3 KB · Views: 318
  • kitless 2a.jpg
    kitless 2a.jpg
    20 KB · Views: 317
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RAdams

Banned
I have alot of catching up to do to even get close! Nice work! Keep it up my friend! Like the pros have been telling us, focus on function for now, the style will come later!

Texatdurango

Wayne, From what I can see, it looks like the pen would flow together better if you didn't round over the lower body so much where it meets the cap and watch the gap where the section meets the threads.

If you ever want to grab your stuff and come over and play awhile on some ideas, just hollar. :)

fernhills

Looks like you are coming along fine, a lot faster and further then i am. I got some pieces i am working on sitting on my work table. As i am working on something else i ponder and think, whats next. Carl

1dweeb

Thanks for all the comments...

George,
I may take you up on the offer one of these days and come see you. The gap where the Nib meets the threaded body is there because the threads stop on the Nib housing. I am trying to get a die that will allow me to cut the threads up higher on the sleeve. I tried to get the cap to seat down over the rounded body area by countersinking the inside of the cap. It does seal okay it just doesn't quite flow yet as you noticed. All in all the challenge is rewarding. I am having to think more than just shaping the stock to a set of bushings and assembling a kit pen.

Wayne

Texatdurango

Thanks for all the comments...

George,