Almost ready to try a kitless

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Gilrock

I've been gathering my taps, dies, and drill bits and doing some practicing making threads. I've read through several threads on the forum and the library and there's a lot of great info. My main reference has been George's tutorial for making a fountain pen section. I've decided to use #5 Bock nibs and feed housings. I've ordered some converters. I have the tap for the #5 housing, a 9mm x 0.75 tap and die, a 12mm x 0.8 triple tap and die. But as a complete newbie I haven't found a few key pieces of info I think I need. I'm sure I can figure this all out with experimentation and destroying a bunch of material but I'm sure it would help a lot of us wanting to make our first kitless if we had a good starting point so here's few things I haven't found if anyone can help:

Assuming you are making a section that will thread into the body with cap threads on the body:

How do you know how long to make the section piece?

Whats a good length for the tenon on the section for the part that threads into the body?

What's a good length for the threads on the body that holds the cap?

If I have 12mm internal threads whats a good cap diameter so it's not too thin and prone to cracking?

Thanks,
Gil

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Gilrock

Thinking about this some more and looking at the fountain pen section tutorial again. It's my lack of understanding how the fountain pen works that's causing me problems. Is the placement of the converter with respect to it's distance to the feed housing critical? Or is there a gap between the two such that you are creating an "ink chamber" when you craft the section?

Thanks,
Gil

soligen

There is no rule here - it is a matter of making it whatever you like. Examining and trying spme of the kits is a good way to get started. For example, I tried a churchhill and decided that the section was a little short for my tastes, but others probably find it perfect.