Accent material

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ginny

I am new to pen making, but I have an adventurous spirit when it comes to learning.

I have noticed that a lot of pens are made with some sort of metal accent material. It seems to me to be either aluminum or copper (am I right?). Could one use silver, gold or bronze? I have a wood lathe and would like to experiment with these accent materials. What should I buy and where to start the journey? What thickness should it be?

I really appreciate any answers I thank you in advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Burr

Banned
Lot's of correct answers Ginny...but the short one is...yes. I use all but gold (way to expensive!) My favorites are brass, copper and aluminium...all found on eBay. Thickness...just my opinion...that's all...should be the thickness of the blade used to cut the material. I find 22 to 24 gauge suits me...and only me, well. Some folks use CA to glue it up and some use epoxy.
They cut easily, sand and finish well. I have some pic's in various postings of elliptical sandwichs that I love doing...but lots of guys are doing crazy amazing stuff with sandwichs. Have fun and happy to help if you need it!

wood-of-1kind

Brass also makes an excellent 'accent' material. Generally the thickness of the accent material should be equal to the thickness of your bandsaw blade. Whatever you remove from the wood (cut) should be accented with thickness of your material replacement choice.

Wood Butcher

Local Chapter Leader
If you want to experiment with something really cost effective try pop cans. Cut 'em apart and sand the alum. well then either CA or epoxy the material between blank pieces, drill it, tube it up and turn it. That's how I got started.
WB

76winger