$55 kits quality

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alexkuzn

Just had a chance to play with some pens my friend made with $55 kits.
As he told me these kits are as good as it gets in kits.

I could not help but notice that cap threads on these kits is way too loose and that makes a pen feel cheap no matter how much gold or shiny embellishment they put on it.

Am I wrong expecting nice "precision mechanical" feel from a $55 kit?

Is there any kits that don't have that problem?

I personally don't care about shiny stuff, gold or ornaments.
All I want is precisely made parts. You guys am I am sure know the feeling of playing with perfectly made mechanical parts - silky smooth movement, no play between parts etc. It's a pure joy. :yin-yang:

BTW My friend stopped making kit pens and moved on to bowls till somebody shows him a better kit.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wheaties

I'm no expert, but like they say,

"If you want something done right, so it yourself"

Maybe that's your best bet for what you are looking for. In my limited experience, I am very happy with the kits I have done.

alexkuzn

I must add I am spoiled by been exposed to custom made folding knives.
They are SOOTH. To achieve this parts have to be very precisely made.
I am talking about 0.0001" or even better in moving parts.

alexkuzn

I'm no expert, but like they say,

"If you want something done right, so it yourself"

Maybe that's your best bet for what you are looking for. In my limited experience, I am very happy with the kits I have done.

I wish I had a metal working lathe but unfortunately I don't.

aggromere

A while back someone posted some info about putting silicone caulk around the inner surface of the cap ring to eliminate this problem. I don't remember who it was though.

Texatdurango