nib upgrade help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

conandy

I am very new to FP's. Have only turned a couple, both of which have moved on to other users.

I just purchased a few Baron kits and a Virage and a Rinehart from Bear Tooth Woods. I wanted to play around with learning to remove and upgrade and adjust nibs (haven't purchased any upgrades yet), but I am finding it very difficult (as in unsuccessful as yet) to remove the stock nib from the feed/housing.

Granted, these are un-inked and as yet even un-turned-into-pens, but I got the impression from watching nib tuning and adjusting vids on Youtube (some made by a few of the fine folks on this site) that the nibs should pull out with a firm tug and firm grip. I can't seem to get them to budge.

The entire feed/housing does unscrew easily from the section, so I suppose I could upgrade the entire housing easily if someone can point me at some compatible feed/housing/nib assemblies that fit these pens.

My preference would be to start with just nibs and work my way up to the more expensive (and complete) upgrades.

Also: I have seen in other threads that upgrading the nibs on PSI's Vertex FP's is extremely difficult. PSI has been no help at all. What is the latest word on the easiest way to upgrade those or find "compatible" nibs? Those first 2 pens I turned were Vertexes. People like those magnetic caps, so I 'd like to learn ways to offer upgrades to those.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

conandy

Thanks, Lenny. I went and watched that one by Ed. Looks like I just need to be more patient, and try for awhile longer. I'll let y'all know how that turns out.

I have weaker hands than 'normal', so find myself looking for ways to get a better grip. Will try wearing some heavy duty latex gloves or something to give me some more friction.

magpens

I haven't watched Ed Brown's Youtube video.