Need help making a kitless Fountain Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ChiTown56

Hi, I am a newbie here to this site, and would like to make a kitless fountain pen, but have no idea where to start? Can someone guide me?? Please.....

For what it's worth I have a Jet 10-14 Lathe, Skill bandsaw, 14" Drill press, Craftsman 6" Variable speed grinder, and a hand held belt saw.

Thank You,
Mike

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BSea

Welcome Mike! At the top of the page, you'll see blue buttons. One of them is labeled "Library". In there are many articles related to pen turning. Some of them should answer your questions involving kitless pens.

My suggestion is to study those, and then design what you want to do. Then buy the appropriate taps and dies for your design. You can easily spend $500 in special tooling. But that isn't necessary at all to get started.

Good luck. It is an adventure. I find it more fun doing kitless than kits.

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
How far down that rabbit hole do you wish to go?
You can make the pen body and use a 10 x 1 tap and put an El Grande front section on it,
You can make your own front section and use which ever brand of Feed Assembly you prefer. Jowo, Bock, Schmidt. or other.
THe place to start is to draw the pen you want to build and start giving it some dimensions. You can always use an existing kit to measure to get started.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Hi Mike:

mredburn and BSea's suggestions are excellent for your questions!

I'll suggest (IGNORE at will :tongue:) you start with making closed ends pens, with existing kit components. And as suggested, the "Library" (and "Search") buttons are good starts. Also UTube will have a wealth of knowledge.

http://content.penturners.org/library/pens/closed_end_pens.pdf