Looking for some first time FP advice

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

el_d

Hello Pengods,
I was wondering if anyone has some advice for turning my first Fountain pen. I Have NO experience with the FP but my Daughter wants one and I have the Jr. Gent kit, blank and Lathe. I have turned rollerbal and am thinking that it wouldnt be much different. I have NO idea how to care for it, or what I should to tell my daughter about what is needed. I was going to tell her to look up Care info for the FP but dont know which way to point her. Are there any BEGINER sites????
Thanks...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Firefyter-emt

Yes, the kit is the same, and just very minor procedure changes to put it togather.

What I do, based on advise from others, is to "doodle" on a brown paper-bag for a little bit before the ink is installed on the pen to "set" the nib and polish it a bit. I do not use the refills, but the ink connverter that comes with the kit. I fill my converter right in the bottle and not thru the nib it self because it makes less mess. I then will turn the plunger until I just start seeing ink in the feeder behind the nib. I will then top off the ink converter and dab the nib with a paper towel to clean off excess ink.

As for use, it's not a major change really. You have to be more gentle with the pen and keep it covered when not in use, but she will quickly pick up the in's & out's easy enough. Have hee log on the the "Fountain Pen Network" and read there a bit, it's all the info you could ever need to know and then some.