Jr. Gent FP Issue

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jedgerton

Guys,

I have very little experience with FP's so perhaps someone can give me some advise. I have a Rhodium plated Jr. Gent FP where the nib will barely reach the threads that hold it into the metallic tube. In fact, I didn't think it threaded into the metallic tube at all but on a second look, I find that it will just barely catch a thread and stay in the tube.

Is this normal? The metallic ring that appears to be press fit onto the feed mechanism appears to be what limits how many threads can catch. I don't have second one to compare to and as I said, I have little or no experience with these pens.

John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dow

The metallic ring that appears to be press fit onto the feed mechanism appears to be what limits how many threads can catch.

John, I'm not sure what you're talking about with the "metallic ring that appears to press fit onto the feed mechanism." I use a Jr. Gent FP daily, and the only metal things on "feed mechanism" are the housing and the nib. Take a look at CSUSA's instructions here and see if what you're talking about is on the parts diagram at the bottom of the page. Now, obviously, they don't have an exploded view of the front section, but it should look a lot like what Lou shows in his tutorial here. I'm wondering if that ring is something that doesn't belong there.

Like was said before, a picture would sure help clarify things, but maybe this will help.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
IF I am reading and following, your front section (the metal part that holds the nib and has the threads) should catch threads in the pen body with about 3/16" of turning (screwing in) remaining.

My assessment, from what I think you are saying, is that you got a coupler (the part that goes into the brass tube) that was not fully threaded. The threads on the coupler SHOULD extend almost to the end (1/32" above??)

Look right???

dow