Fountain Pen Reliability Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Frog Morton

I am considering making a fountain pen as a gift for someone (using a Majestic kit from PSI) but I am not familiar with fountain pens at all, and my concern is that I want a pen that will write every time it is asked to, without any hassle.

Will the Majestic kit give me that level of "always works" reliability?

I've read here and there that fountain pens can be somewhat temperamental, and the person who will be receiving this pen would not appreciate dealing with that, so I thought I would run it by the fine folks here before committing to the project.

Many thanks for any advice that you can offer.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monophoto

I have been using fountain pens exclusively for more than 30 years.

No fountain pen is ever 100% reliable and trouble-free. Having to perform routine maintenance is the price you pay for the pleasure of using a fountain pen.

Routine maintenance includes refilling the pen, and periodically flushing the pen with water. It may also be necessary to 'tune' the nib to get proper ink flow, or to burnish the nib to make it write smoother (although these should typically only need to be done once or twice over the life of a pen).

If you drop a fountain pen, it will always land nib down requiring major repairs. DAMHIKT. If you drop a ball point or roller ball, you simply replace the refill and keep writing.

If the pen has a gold nib, it will require far more frequent maintenance. As as you might expect, the greater the cost of a pen, the more likely it is that the nib will be gold (and the higher the price that must be paid to have the pen professionally serviced).

Frog Morton

Thanks guys, that is the type of information I was seeking.

It looks like I will be going with the rollerball version of the Majestic for this person.

Dr.Internet

Frog,