Fountain Pen Graduation Gift

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wyone

My stepson is graduating next month from High School. He has loved fountain pens for the last couple of years. When I started turning, I took the step and made him one. It was a low cost PSI kit and well it was OK.. and he loved it and carried it forever. I made a slightly better quality one for his Christmas present last year

So I am thinking, I would like to make something special for him for a graduation gift. I know I kept my graduation present from my parents until well, an unfortunate thing last year, so 37 years.

I am looking for suggestions on kits or materials that might be something special for him to keep. Ideally, I would love to create him something like a kitless, but that is way beyond my skill set at this point. I have been turning for about 10 months and used many different material, but still have a lot to learn.

I welcome any ideas/suggestions you might have

Thanks in advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mr Vic

How about a Sterling Silver Navigator/Baron -Woodcraft/Beartooth Woods. If you want a larger pen you might try the Triton Convertible from Exotic Blanks - Two Pens in one. Hold off for the high en Imperial or such for his college graduation...

Just a thought..

Brooks803

If it's something you want to make yourself then I'd suggest something that's rugged that he could be comfortable using throughout college. I did a similar gift for a close friend for her HS graduation and did a Nouveau Sceptre FP in a blank I made in her favorite colors. This was well before I started custom pens. She loved it and has used it all through college. She graduates this year so I'll be making her a full blown custom in honor of that.