Flex/Superflex nib source

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fibonacci

I have been using an FP as my carry pen for a couple months now and want to go a bit fancieer with it.

I am currently using the #5 stock IPG nib that came with it, but I want a finer line and more variation with pressure. From what I have read, it sounds like I want a fine or extra fine flex or superflex nib.

I don't see those for sale at any of the usual places, but I might just not know what I am looking at.

Oklahoman has bock extra fine #5 nibs, but it looks like they are the semi-flex.

Does anyone here carry these or know where to get them? I would like to stay below $20 for the nib if possible, but I might be dreaming on that point.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bitshird

I think you'll find, for a flexible nib, you are going to have to get a 14kt nib, they will respond to pressure, and return to normal, but good luck on the $20.00 price.

watch_art

Mauricio knows flex.
Vintage Fountain Pens, Flexible Nibs, Super Flex Nibs, Wet Noodles, and Penmanship - Home

You can also get a Noodler's Konrad or Ahab with a flexy nib. Or look on ebay and go vintage. Waterman and Swan are good companies for flexy nibs.

14k gold nibs are the only way to go - but some old steel is very springy. I had a Japanese "Power" pen (an eyedropper) that had what I heard called a Mikata or Mitaka nib. Sorta flexy - very nice - INCREDIBLY smooth for an XF.

And those #5 "semi-flex" nibs are no such thing. Stiff steel nibs.

OKLAHOMAN

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but to get a full flex nib your going to spent at least $100 more like $150 for a 14 K gold, steel just won't flex .

Last edited:

IPD_Mr