first ever fountain (psi tycoon)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

endacoz

This is my first fountain pen. I have made a tycoon roller ball pen before just not the fountain pen part. One question I do have is when I twist the cap on over the nib and then untwisted the nib comes untwisted a bit as well. Seems that the cap doesn't quite fit over the nib side of the pen.

Anyone else have this problem with the tycoon fountain? Thoughts or suggestions?

Also, being new to the fountain pen world I started trying to write with the nib on the fountain pen and it is not as smooth as I thought it would be. But I have never used a fountain pen before.

I intentionally did not paint the tubes as I thought the gold that would come through from the tube would accent the gold plating.

Attachments

• 20150625_165429.jpg
    20150625_165429.jpg
    118.3 KB · Views: 297
  • 20150625_165414.jpg
    20150625_165414.jpg
    112.1 KB · Views: 347
  • 20150625_165245.jpg
    20150625_165245.jpg
    144.1 KB · Views: 321
  • 20150625_165325.jpg
    20150625_165325.jpg
    115.3 KB · Views: 309
  • 20150625_165436~2.jpg
    20150625_165436~2.jpg
    155.3 KB · Views: 272
  • 20150625_165442~2.jpg
    20150625_165442~2.jpg
    149.2 KB · Views: 273
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Divingdad

Ethan, I can't comment on that particular kit, but I regularly use fountain pens (purchased from Levenger before I bought my lathe) and sometimes nibs need to be used for a day or so before they smooth out.

Nice pen. I'm looking forward to making a fountain pen :)

Dave

Bryguy