Differences in Nib size (the point)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

les-smith

I'm still learning the nuances of using a fountain pen. I've made two to use for my self, but have yet to try and sell one. Still learning.

I've bought three nibs from Arizona Silhouette, Fine, Medium and Broad. Broad was to broad, Fine was to Fine, so I tried the Medium. I can't tell any difference between the Medium and the Fine.

My questions is: Should there be a distinct difference between the two or should it be hard to tell, both by looking at the nib itself and by looking at the ink on the paper.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

holmqer

Local Chapter Leader
In general there should be a difference between the three, but the ink / paper combination you are using may be feathering enough on the fine that makes it hard to tell it apart from the medium.

Another possibility is that the medium nib either came out fine due to manufacturing tolerances or they mislabled as fine as medium.

As you find the fine to be too fine, I am more inclined to suspect that the medium is writing too fine.

I generally fine most medium to be too broad, I use extra fine as a daily writer.

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
Welcome to the inexact world of tip widths. There's no agreement on what constitutes any of the common terms for nib widths. Some Manufacturers consider a 0.3 mm nib fine while othersgo as far as a 0.5 mm. Broads can range from 0.75 mm to 1.1 mm. I find the more important measure is the line that is drawn. To me a 0.4 to 0.5 mm line is fine and 0.8-0.9 mm is broad. Remember that the width of the tip is almost always wider than the line it draws. As for the replacement nibs, they need to be significantly fine-tuned to get a somewhat reasonable measure of the line they write. They tip widths vary considerably from nib to nib.

les-smith