WorkSharp 3000 - bowl gouges?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from PMisiaszek

PMisiaszek

I have an opportunity to purchase a new WS3000 with honing leather at a fire-sale price. I have two bowl gouges that are in desperate need of sharpening. In looking at the manual, I don't see any obvious good way of sharpening them on the WS3000, and the online sites I visited recommended purchasing the accessory tool bar and a Tormek jig. Those two would cost more than twice what I'd be paying for the WS3000. Can I do a repeatable sharpening of a bowl gouge, or any gouge for that matter on the WS3000 without buying attachments?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I'm no expert at sharpening and you will get better answers from others, but my opinion is - no.... I think you would be better served if you could get a slow speed grinder with good wheels and the jigs to sharpen the gouges... again, my opinion worth exactly what you've paid for it.

I have the 3000 and do most all of my chisel and turning tool sharpening with it. I built a couple jigs to assist sharpening my spindle gouges and skews but for quite some time used the slotted wheels for bowl gouges. It does ok, esp if you are an experienced sharpener (which I'm not). LOML got me the tool bar and Tormek jig for Christmas last year (what a gal!). Much better. The whole thing is about repeatability and the Tormek does just that.

Frankly, even if you get a grinder, you'll prob need something to assist with the bowl gouges so why not get the 3000? Then you'll have a great tool for plane irons, etc too.

The downside to the 3000 is the need to change the sandpaper discs fairly often. I do quite a bit of turning these days and it seems like I'm changing discs every week. Also the Worksharp disc packages are kind of pricey. Sure would be nice to find a less expensive option.

Last edited:

KenV