Stopper Mandrels

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from heritagebob

heritagebob

I am just getting into making stoppers,, I recently purchased a kit from Woodcraft that had 4 stoppers, a drill bit and mandrel,, was told all are compatable and should be good to go...... well wll is well EXCEPT.. after I drill my hole and thread on the mandrel, turn to shape, remove from mandrel I fin the threaded stopper to be a bit "sloppy" and have to put some epoxy inside and let it dry,,, how can I be assured that the stoppers I guy will fit the hole I have drilled...

Also have learned thru "R&D" that a hex head bolt mounted in a drill chuck on the lathe makes a good mandrel

Where can I find good stopper that will thread nicely into the 3/8 hole I drill ,, I am not a machinest so charts arnt much help to me

Rookie at work
Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Your starting hole might be a little large. WC recommends a 9 mm hole for dense/hard woods or 11/32" (8.73 mm) for softer woods. PSI recommends a 5/16" hole (7.94 mm) & doesn't make a distinction between hard & soft woods.

Personally, I find that a 9/32" (7.14 mm) hole works best and I use this PSI tap to cut the threads rather than trying to thread directly onto the mandrel.
Bottle Stopper Drill and Tap Set at Penn State Industries

I haven't had any problems with sloppy fits since I started using the 9/32" drill.

Old Codger

I've made numerous bottle stoppers using Ruth Niles mandrels and bottle stoppers and never have had a problem. Drop Ruth an email regarding your problems or better yet, give her a call and I'm sure you'll be more than pleased with her advice and products. She's a wonderful turner and person who always seems to have the new turner in mind when she produces a fine and lasting product! Talk to your other turning friends and I'm sure they'll back up what I recommend! Safe turning to you always!

dogcatcher