Peppermill Mechanism Types

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Mortalis

Mortalis

My wife has asked me to make a peppermill since out plastic store bought one has failed.

Looking at the different types of mechanisms and seeing as this is my first time turning something other than a pen I was leaning towards the "Antique" or "Old Fashioned" style as the mechanism simply sits atop the delivery tube.

My question to those that have used the Antique/Old Fashioned style, how does it hold up under fairly heavy use?
I watched a couple videos on making the antique style. Also watched a couple videos in the making of a crush grind peppermill and they used their spur point as well as their chuck with a jam chuck and I dont know if I want to get all that involved with this first one but will if need be.

My wife uses a lot, and I mean a lot of pepper that she grinds through the pepper mill on salads and cooking. We have an electric spice grinder but that is slumsy to get in an dout of the cabinet and we dont have a lot of counter space so we tend to keep peppermill and salt shakers in a cabinet until use and then put it back.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Charlie_W

The top mount antique style has the looks but just does not hold much pepper. You might want to make one of those first but plan on moving on to the twist style grinder soon.
Good luck!

I have made a couple and they are fairly easy to make. The only thing I experienced with these, is one day I accidentally knocked it off the table and the handle broke. Maybe just bad luck, but the crank handle does seem to be fragile.

Mortalis

I have made a couple and they are fairly easy to make. The only thing I experienced with these, is one day I accidentally knocked it off the table and the handle broke. Maybe just bad luck, but the crank handle does seem to be fragile.