Mesquite birdhouse

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from TattooedTurner

My first birdhouse and it was a comedy of errors, which means I learned a lot. The next should be much better. Stands about 6.5" tall and the widest point which is the base of the roof is around 3.25" or so. I drilled the top so I can hang it in my palm tree which may or may not happen. Even with all the mistakes I'm satisfied with the result, and it was a lot of fun to make which is what really matters.

View in Gallery

View in Gallery

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Very nice. I like the colors and the natural bark edges. Yes, these little buggers have a few steps that are easy to mess up.

Thanks for sharing.

Wow that is very cool.
I am still pretty new to turning this is the first time I have seen something like this. I really like it.

Thank you, and give it a try! These are actually pretty common and IMO are just a variation of a lidded box. If you make a small one you can just drill the body with a forstner bit and not have to mess around with hollowing it.

Very nice. I like the colors and the natural bark edges. Yes, these little buggers have a few steps that are easy to mess up.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks Mark. The most important thing I learned is to take notes when watching a video of how to make something instead of relying on memory...

Now what was I doing?

I agree with Mark as I have made bird house for some time, and natural edge one can be a pain, by the way great job.

Thank you! I like the natural edge look but it was a little more difficult than expected. The bark wouldn't stay on the first two bodies.

Very nice. FWIW, you can find little birds in the dollhouse section of Hobby Lobby.

Thank you. I knew they had them but had no idea what section they were in, you made my trip to Hobby Lobby much easier.

Great birdhouse!! I'll have to give that a try sometime.