Just Playing around

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Band Saw Box

Band Saw Box

Passed Away Dec 8, 2021
In Memoriam
I found a piece of 2 x 12 pine and though I would try a small plate or bowl or??. Here is what I came up with. I mounted it to my face plate. Kind of fun to do. This is my first try on a project like this. I sanded but did not finish this bowl. I think I may get a book on bowl making and projects like it so I have a better idea of how to do it. Any and all comments welcome

Attachments

• IMG_0006.jpg
    IMG_0006.jpg
    113.7 KB · Views: 244
  • IMG_0005.jpg
    IMG_0005.jpg
    111.9 KB · Views: 226
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonepecker

Just have fun. That is what it is all about. Looks like you are doing well. I like that.
Before spending any money..........check out the local library.
Take a look at what is there. Also, used book stores are a great place to hunt.
Never buy what you can get on the cheap......LOL.

Band Saw Box

Passed Away Dec 8, 2021
In Memoriam
Thanks for the comments and suggestions. Wayne that's good idea about check our local library or used book store. Jim I did find DVD by both people by doing a quick search I'll have to take a closer look at them.

Charlie_W

Great start Dan! Slap some finish on it!
My mom still had several of my bowls from high school shop class. A little furniture polish and they still look pretty good considering how old they are and the fact that I didn't really know what I was doing then!

Band Saw Box

Passed Away Dec 8, 2021
In Memoriam
Thanks for all the nice comments, I did not think it would look as nice as it does when I started. I like that aspect of turning.

SDB777

Pine has got to be one of the harder types of timber to turn. The tear-out and amount of sanding has got to be on a top five list somewhere?!?!?!?

If you are going to do many more, you might think about sanding sealer(DAMHIKT)....