I am joining the CNC world! My CNC router build

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from MesquiteMan

ChrisN

Ed,
One question...I have my parts nested well so that they are very similar to how it would be cut on a tablesaw. In other words, the edges all line up. Would I be better setting toolpaths to make a long cut the length of the sheet rather than cutting each individual part at a time?

The longer of a cut you can make, the better. That will reduce the rapid times (time spent moving from the end of one toolpath to the start of the next one) and your programs will be completed sooner. You also can set the order of the toolpaths so the start of the next one is close to the end of the current one to reduce rapid times. If you would post a picture of how you are nesting your parts, I could give you pointers on how to machine it to eliminate unnecessary rapids. (I program CNCs for a living -- a 3-axis & a 5-axis)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Russknan

Curtis, I don't know anything about CNC but, reading your progress on the base, I couldn't escape the conclusion that, should you decide NOT to put the router on it after all, the base could reasonably be used as a substitute for a brick . . . uh . . . lavatory. Solid, precise construction! Russ

ohiococonut

Very nice Curtis!

I bought a Shark Pro Plus HD well over a year ago and I'm having a blast. I use mine for my hobbies and just because I enjoy making things out of wood. I have 5 grandkids so there's plenty of opportunities for me to make things. Now that I'm hooked I want to build a 4'x8' machine :biggrin: